Chaya Czernowin: Sahaf (Performed by Hinge)

Hinge performing Chaya Czernowin’s “Sahaf” (2008).

Philipp Stäudlin, saxophones
Keith Kirchoff, piano
Matt Sharrock, percussion
Dan VanHassel, electric guitar

Video: Scott Quade

“Sahaf” generally belongs to the series “Shifting Gravity.” All pieces of the series “Shifting Gravity” are each a concise and concentrated focus on a singular physical gesture. The close examination of the gesture reveals the strange physical lows of the world in which the gesture exists, and the body performing it.

Category: Performance